More on Fasting   Leave a comment

After studying more on fasting concerning what is called the Daniel fast, the Lord showed me how people have taken a combination of Daniel 1:8-16 and Daniel 10:1-3 to come up with this false fast. The vegetable part is taken from chapter 1 and the 21 days is taken from chapter 10. In Daniel 10 it states that he MOURNED for 3 weeks. To be extra sure I looked up the Hebrew meaning of mourn and found it means “to bewail”. Bewail is to lament, to express deep sorrow. You may wonder I should have known what mourn means. But I wanted no room for satan to put dumb questions in my mind. You see, I’m so tired of being deceived by “traditions of men”. Anyway, as I was studying I thought “if Daniel was going on a fast wouldn’t he say it like others in the Bible”. The Lord told me he did, in which I found in Daniel 9:3 where Daniel stated clearly he prayed and fasted (Then I set my face toward the Lord God to make request by prayer and supplications, with fasting, sackcloth, and ashes).

One of the things that I asked the Lord concerning that false fast was, why it affected my body (which I thought was a good thing). When I did that false fast I thought it was effective because I felt different in my body. Actually, the pastor of the church I attended would tell us if we didn’t feel it in our bodies, then we are not fasting. That’s true to a certain degree. The Lord Jesus told me that people get deceived doing that false fast because their body goes through changes. But the problem is that is all the focus was on. The Lord Jesus said it’s like when people go on a diet, their body feels the effect from that change in eating. In that false fast, you are eating but like a diet, you’re eating differently. True fasting afflicts your soul (Isaiah 58:3 and 5). But when you fast the difference is spiritually more than naturally. Now that I know the truth I now see how I never received anything in the spirit when I was doing that false fast. I now see the only thing that was affected was my body. It got to the point I’d look forward to do that false fast because I’d lose some weight. Now when I truly go on a fast the Lord calls me on and abstain from foods, I see more of a spiritual change. From August – September, 2012 I went on a fast based on Isaiah 58 standard and I began to see things in the spirit of God more than I ever had. I heard the Lord clearer than ever. And there was no question who was talking to me. So there is no such thing as what we call a “Daniel Fast”. A true fast is according to Isaiah 58. There is no pleasure in a true fast. When you have a cookbook giving you great and good recipes in this false fast; how is that afflicting your soul. I remember one year while doing this false fast I’d get excited about fixing some of those recipes. Not only that, I created some recipes of my own. I wasn’t afflicting my soul, I was pleasuring my flesh. Fasting is important. Look at all the things accomplished because men and women in the Bible fasted and prayed. Jesus’ disciples weren’t able to cast out demons because they didn’t fast and pray (Mark 9:25-29). Why do you think satan deceives so many in reference to fasting? Because he knows we will tear his kingdom down. All this time I’ve been a Christian no one has ever taught me about fasting. If the Lord Jesus didn’t remove me from the church that was allowing so much ungodliness, I would not have received the truth. It is so important for us to have our own relationship with Jesus Christ and not through people. The way to God is not through people, but through Jesus Christ (John 14:6; Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me). Finally, we have to discern every thing and every body. Just because a person say their a prophet does not mean they come with a word from the Lord Jesus. In these last days, let’s seek only the truth in God’s Word. That way we’ll never go wrong. Please check out the next post on discernment. Be blessed and free in Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

