Being Connected to God   Leave a comment

My cell phone has a problem where it can be plugged in and appear to be recharging, but it isn’t. The only way I can tell is when I take a close look and see the bars aren’t moving like they should. When the bars are moving right to left indicates my phone is being recharged. However, when the bars are only blinking indicates it’s not being recharged which causes me to go throughout the day thinking my phone has power and it really don’t. When my phone is fully charged I receive a message that the battery has been fully charged. That’s the only indication I receive to let me know it has been fully charged. On some occasions when the phone has been plugged in and I think it’s getting power, I don’t receive that message that’s it been fully charged, so I ignore it when I go about my day. The reasons I ignore it – Because I’m in a hurry; I’m too busy and say I’ll do it later; I just don’t care; or I hope it received some power because it was plugged in (or I thought). The thing is most of the time I think it has power based on what I saw; based on how it look. Even though I didn’t receive the message of it being fully powered. The point of saying this is to let us know so many of us think we are plugged in the power source (God) based on what we see. Not just in others, but ourselves. Our works does not indicate we are plugged into God. The Lord tells us in John 13:34-35 that we will know His disciples by their love for one another; which is unity (John 13:34-35; A new commandment I give unto you, that ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another. By this shall all men know that ye are My disciples, if ye have love one to another). Even if a one falls, you which are spiritual restore them in the spirit of meekness, considering yourself (Galatians 6:1). It is so easy for us to get caught up in what we see. We can use the mistake I made in thinking my cell phone was plugged in to how we think we are plugged into God (who is the power source). Let’s say I’m driving on the freeway and I get a flat tire or my car just breakdown. I am a long way from the nearest exit. I look down and my cell phone is down because it wasn’t recharged like I thought. That leaves me in a bad place. And in some cases, a dangerous place. It’s the same if we aren’t connected into God. Have you ever read the Bible just because? Just because you want to participate in the conversations in Bible study or Sunday school; or because you want to be able to say “I did my part” like it’s a chore; or because you desire the knowledge, but get no revelation. There are so many wrong reasons to read the Bible, but only a few right reasons. The right reasons is to know God’s Word and get understanding. To look for an answer to a solution to a problem; to learn more about Jesus Christ. The bottom line, studying the Bible is survival. It lets us know who we are and who we truly belong to. The Word of God is to help us and not hinder us. The Word is about Love (God, Jesus, the Holy Spirit). Love is the greatest power. Let’s say you are stranded, because you know you are loved by God and when you pray, it helps you believe help will come. Love helps us believe when we are told we are more than conquerors through Him, who loves us. Love helps us believe we are healed when the doctors say you are dying from cancer. Love says I am your provider. It’s so important to have a relationship with God through Jesus Christ. A relationship is different than just mere religion. Religion is based on what you do; Relationship with Jesus is based on what He already did and we receive it. So when we study the Bible, it’s not a chore.

When we are connected to God through His Son, Jesus, we love each other; we love our enemies; we bless our enemies and don’t curse them. Look at all Jesus did; He healed and told them to sin not. Jesus, the King, washed His disciples feet to show humility. Jesus told the woman caught in adultery He didn’t condemn her. Jesus told the thief on the cross, you will be with Me in paradise. It wasn’t nothing they did, but who and what Jesus did. When we are connected to the real Power, we see things through His eyes and not our natural eyes. Our natural eye see false prophets and think they are Jesus’s sheep. The Lord warns us of them in Matthew 7:15. We can only see with the eyes of God if we are connected to Him. When we aren’t connect to the power source and see what God see we walk in blindness, but don’t know we are blind. We walk in fear instead of faith. We listen to false prophets we think are speaking words of God. They use flattering words and promises of money and more money. There is nothing wrong with money, but the love of money is the problem. If all you speak about is money and things, then there’s a problem with your connection. Don’t overlook it. Don’t assume based on your works. Jesus disciples came to Him with joy because the devils are subjected unto them through the name of Jesus (Luke 10:17). Yes the Lord has given us authority over satan, but that’s not why we should rejoice. Jesus said in verse 20, “Nevertheless, do not rejoice at this, that the spirits are subject to you, but rejoice that your names are enrolled/written in heaven”. Again, we can ONLY be connected to Him through His Son, Jesus Christ (Romans 10:9). How do we know if we are connected to the power source? We have love for one another. 1 Corinthians 13 says it all.

1 Corinthians 13:1-13; Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity/LOVE, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal. And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity/LOVE, I am nothing. And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity/LOVE, it profiteth me nothing. Charity/LOVE suffereth long, and is kind; charity/LOVE envieth not; charity/LOVE vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up, doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil; Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth; Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things. Charity/LOVE never faileth: but whether there be prophecies, they shall fail; whether there be tongues, they shall cease; whether there be knowledge, it shall vanish away. For we know in part, and we prophesy in part. But when that which is perfect is come, then that which is in part shall be done away. When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things. For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known. And now abideth faith, hope, charity/LOVE, these three; but the greatest of these is charity/LOVE.

Posted February 28, 2014 by Free From Burdens in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

