Singleness of Heart   Leave a comment

Good morning all,

While reading this devotional word I thought about a dream the Lord gave me last year concerning true treasure. The Lord gave me that dream because of how I responded in the wrong way to someone close to me that persecuted me. The enemy had to use this particular person because of the closeness of our relationship and that I received a Word from the Lord that produced changed in my life. But when this person attacked me I responded in negative emotions instead of responding in the Spirit of God. We are not to recompense evil for evil (Romans 12:17). When we do that we lose the treasures which is God’s Word; which is more than any amount of money or natural treasure. In the dream I was given a bag full of treasures. They were gorgeous and they meant a lot to me. Not because they were gold, but because they came from the Lord. As I was looking in the bag and saw the treasures, I felt honored. But in a quick instance my head turned to the altar. I went to the altar and without question I placed those treasures, that meant so much to me, on the altar; giving them to an idol that was on the altar. Then on that same altar I sacrificed my body to this idol. The Lord’s Holy Spirit told me the treasures that were in the bag were the Word of God and when I gave in to that persecution in a negative way, I gave away those treasures. When we give in to satan we are not placing importance to the Word of God. We are not seeing it as holy and sacred. So when we think about treasures let’s think about the Word of God. The Lord gave us a parable in Mark 4:13-20 on when the Word is sown on different type of hearts. In my case, the Word was sown among thorns. I heard the word, but allowed the cares of this world and the desire for other things to come and choke the word and it became unfruitful. When we have a singleness of heart with our Lord Jesus, the Word can fall on good ground. We hear it, accept it, and bear fruit from it. Matthew 7:6 tell us to not give what is holy to the dogs nor cast our pearls before swine. When we accept the word, we need to keep it in our hearts and minds so it isn’t taken. NOTE: Greek meaning for “Keep” is to protect; to hem in (enclose; to put in).

SINGLENESS OF HEART -  From Andrew Wommack Ministries

Matthew 12:35, "A good man out of the good treasure of the heart bringeth forth good things: and an evil man out of the evil treasure bringeth forth evil things."

MATTHEW 12:32-45

Our spirit is definitely a part of our heart, but as seen in 1 Peter 3:4, it is only a part. Sin, iniquity, unbelief, etc., come from the heart but not the born-again spirit. Hebrews 4:12 suggests that spirit and soul are both part of the heart; hence, the scriptures admonish us to believe with all our heart (Acts 8:37), have singleness of heart (Col. 3:22), and tell us our hearts can have two minds or ways of thinking (Jas. 4:8).

Even Christians still struggle with things like pride and foolishness which Jesus said came out of our heart. It’s certain that our born again spirit is not the source of these sins. The heart encompasses more than our spirit.

The English word "soul" comes from the Greek word "psuche," translated "heart, life, mind, and soul." The mind is the principle and leading part of the soul, followed by the will and emotions. We could also describe the soul as being the hidden part of all existing beings or what most people would call the personality. The soul is the center of the feelings and emotions, appetites and desires, as well as sense perception and consciousness. The soul may also speak of the totality of a person – his total being or self, a person, and the hidden man or inward man. The soul and the body do not get born again. It is the spirit of man that becomes totally new at salvation. So, although every believer receives the same miraculous spiritual rebirth, the visible results of that inward change will vary from person to person according to how much he renews his mind. The term "heart" can include all of the inner man – spirit, soul, or any portion thereof. The peace of God will keep your heart at rest in Christ Jesus. Let Him.

Leave a Reply

