Thoughts   Leave a comment

For years I would have thoughts that I knew weren’t right. These thoughts tormented me all the time, but I didn’t know how to stop them. Some time ago while I was driving and agonizing over another ungodly thought, the Holy Spirit said not to receive it because it’s a lie. I didn’t understand, which caused me to not have victory. I continued to have ungodly thoughts and agonized over them. I agonized to the point I would have anxiety attacks. Although I didn’t act on most of those thoughts, it still bothered me to that degree. The anxiety attacks came because I was afraid of not being accepted by God and going to hell for those thoughts. Apart of the teaching I received when I became born again was, I was sin free. I thought I was unable to commit sin and all my problems would go away. I also was taught if I sinned or anything happened to me, it was because I was cursed, or not truly saved. I found out after studying God’s Word that all of that I was taught was a lie. But until I realized I was taught lies, I went for years agonizing over my thoughts. Sometimes I fought it, but sometimes I listened, which caused me to sin because I acted on it. Before I go any further let me state, it doesn’t matter what type of thought you have. Whether it’s stealing a pencil or stealing bread or stealing a large amount of money; whatever the thought is; if it’s opposite to who God is, it’s ungodly. There are no big sins or little sins. Sin is just that, sin. But we should realize, if you’ve been born again, became a new creation, those thoughts aren’t yours. When we believe those thoughts, we take ownership of the. Thus causing us to follow our enemy, satan. 

Cast down imaginations (2 Corinthians 10:5) -  When I first became born again, I didn’t know the battle was in the mind. Which caused me to take ownership of those ungodly thoughts. Thus, I didn’t know I have the authority to stop those thoughts. Once I began studying on who I really am, I began to the word of God was my mirror in who I really am, in Jesus Christ. So when I started speaking what the word of God says about me, those thoughts didn’t have that power over me like before. They still came but I continued to reject them and speak God’s Word in who I really am in Him. Those thoughts became less powerful and I realized some barely come like before. I knew the truth, and I received AND believed the truth. When we look at ourselves, we see our flesh or wrongs, or faults. Bottom line, we focus on self. But when we look at who we really are in our born again spirit, we see God’s Word who is Jesus Christ. We can then focus on Him. When we become born again, His Spirit abides in our hearts now. Apart of us is holy just as He is Holy. Again, we don’t see it because we look at the outer; our flesh. You may say like I said, if I don’t accept I’m having those thoughts, then how am I going to stop them. You may also feel (like I did) if I don’t acknowledge I’m having these thoughts, then I’m being a hypocrite and not accepting who I am, then how can change happen. The problem with that is, we don’t know who we really are in Jesus. When we look at ourselves, not only do we look at the outer, but we look at ourselves based on those thoughts, which are lies from satan. Our body responds so we think it’s real. If that’s the case, just because your body responds to sickness, don’t mean you’re not healed. The Bible tells us Jesus Christ HEALED us (Isaiah 53:5; 2 Peter 2:24). If you are born again, you already have the mind of Christ; it just has to come out. If you don’t know or believe you have Jesus’s mind, satan came come and give you his thoughts, which you believe are yours. But they are not. The truth is we are being a hypocrite when we don’t accept the truth in who we really are. So many say they are prophet, elder, pastor, evangelist, etc. But that’s not who we are, it’s just what we are called to do. Just like Paul said, “I am Paul, a servant of Jesus, CALLED to be an apostle. Too many get caught up in the CALLED then who they are and they aren’t walking in their true power and authority given to us from Jesus.

Some of the things that helped me was studying on God’s grace and mercy. That teaching helped me realize, accept and believe God loves me, unconditionally. Nothing can separate me/us from God’s love (Romans 8:35-39). I don’t have to do this or that for Him to love me. I don’t have to perform for Him to love me. He proved that to us all by sending His Son to die for us while we were still sinners (Romans 5:8; But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us). He didn’t leave me nor hate me when I did wrong; and that included the thoughts I’d have. Then I learned who I really am in God because of what Jesus did. I realized I have His Spirit in me, I began accepting just as Jesus is, so am I (1 John 4:17). There’s so much I’m still learning and I don’t understand, but one things I know, I can trust God. I can have faith in His Word. My mind is being renewed to the truth and that causes me to have patience with myself while my mind change. And any thoughts that come to me that’s not apart of the new me (my new creation), then I have the power and authority to reject them. I am sinning less since I’ve been speaking the truth about who I really am. I speak it even if I don’t feel it. Faith has nothing to do about feelings. Do you think Jesus was feeling good being spit on and being nailed to a cross. But He has faith. Faith in God’s words have nothing to do with our feelings. Faith stands still, while feelings are like a sea and wave to and fro. When satan say something about who I am because I did something wrong or thought something wrong; I say boldly I am the righteousness of God because of faith in what Jesus Christ did; then satan he flees. The enemy tells me to hate this person; I say I have the love of Christ in me; he fled. The enemy said my knees wasn’t healed. I said by Jesus stripes I am healed; he fled and the pain in my knee left. The Lord Jesus said He has given us His power and authority over our enemy (Luke 10:19).

How you think, you become (Proverbs 23:7). If you believe the Word of God concerning who you really are, that’s who you will be. If you believe the lies from satan, that’s who you’ll be. I don’t want to live a life of lies, but truth. Since I’ve been studying on this topic, it seems the attacks increased. But I’m not alone. Where sin abound, grace much more abound (). I have the Creator of Grace residing in me, so He helps me cast down those thoughts. Yesterday, I had an ungodly thought about his woman I don’t know. Someone I never met and started thinking she was this evil person. But after the thought came, the Holy Spirit showed me how that thought was foreign to me. For the 1st time I didn’t feel like it was me. The truth is, it wasn’t me; it was satan’s thoughts. I don’t belong to satan no more. I belong to Christ; Again, I am not satan’s business. Not anymore. So I was able to move on and accept God’s continuing love for me. The more I learn and grow, the quicker I will be in casting down those thoughts.

During my growing, one of the scriptures that tremendously helped me was Galatians 4:6 (see below). Galatians is a harsh letter written by the Lord’s apostle, Paul. Paul wrote it rebuking and correcting the Galatians because after they became born again they allowed ungodly teachers to teach them against the gospel of Christ; against His Grace. Paul even called them foolish and asked who has bewitched you so you don’t obey the truth (Galatians 3:1). But in Galatians 4:6 Paul reminded them who they really are, sons of God. I thought if Paul still called the Galatians sons of God, then I am too. That made me realize my thoughts, mistakes I made, didn’t take away my sonship with the Father. It didn’t take away my heritage in Him, I just had to believe it. I am a new creature and I don’t have to accept the lies satan told me or tells me. I can cast down those thoughts because they are only lies. I didn’t have to believe they were mine anymore because I accepted and believed I am a new creation. I have a new spirit; His Holy Spirit which makes me new. Which make us all new. Some of you may have been taught like me or maybe you still are. But if you did what Romans 10:9 said to do, you are saved (Romans 10:9; That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved). You are born again. You are new creations. Jesus’s Holy Spirit resides in you now. Just renew your mind and accept who you really are. We renew our mind by reading the Word of God. The Word is like a mirror, telling us who we are. When you read, please do so by God’s directing you where to go for studying. Also, pray and ask God to help you see who you really are. I also pray once you see, you walk in humility and love. Have faith in Him, who sent His Son to die for you; to die for us all. Don’t accept the lies satan tell you about you. You ARE NOT satan’s business. I want to end by giving you an example what happened to me the other day. I was listening to the Word and satan kept talking about what the teacher was saying wasn’t true. What the devil was saying was bothering me and discouraging me. I began to think it was me, but the Holy Spirit reminded me those were not my thoughts. So, I asked satan “tell me one reason what he is saying isn’t true”. That evil, wicked liar couldn’t and he fled. We have been given authority and power over our enemy. If he is telling you something that’s against God’s Word, reject it, tell the enemy the truth and move on. Do this all with the help of His awesome Holy Spirit. Peace and blessings to you all.

2 Corinthians 10:3-5; For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war after the flesh: (For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holds;) Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;

Galatians 4:6-7; And because ye are sons, God hath sent forth the Spirit of his Son into your hearts, crying, Abba, Father. Wherefore thou art no more a servant, but a son; and if a son, then an heir of God through Christ.

James 1:12-25; Blessed is the man that endureth temptation: for when he is tried, he shall receive the crown of life, which the Lord hath promised to them that love him. Let no man say when he is tempted, I am tempted of God: for God cannot be tempted with evil, neither tempteth he any man: But every man is tempted, when he is drawn away of his own lust, and enticed. Then when lust hath conceived, it bringeth forth sin: and sin, when it is finished, bringeth forth death. Do not err, my beloved brethren. Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning. Of his own will begat he us with the word of truth, that we should be a kind of firstfruits of his creatures. Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear, slow to speak, slow to wrath: For the wrath of man worketh not the righteousness of God. Wherefore lay apart all filthiness and superfluity of naughtiness, and receive with meekness the engrafted word, which is able to save your souls. But be ye doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving your own selves. For if any be a hearer of the word, and not a doer, he is like unto a man beholding his natural face in a glass: For he beholdeth himself, and goeth his way, and straightway forgetteth what manner of man he was. But whoso looketh into the perfect law of liberty, and continueth therein, he being not a forgetful hearer, but a doer of the work, this man shall be blessed in his deed.

Posted October 3, 2014 by Free From Burdens in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

